Posted by: Andrea Mullins | 11 February, 2009

Slumdog Millionaire

slumdog-millionaireHow do you decide if someone is bad or good? It’s not always easy to keep a list of good deeds versus bad. This is the question some of my family and I discussed after seeing the new movie Slumdog Millionaire. Salim, the older brother of Jamal, is a study of human response to abject poverty.

Slumdog Millionaire not only confronts us with abject poverty and the toll it takes on human behavior, but also with the reality of our wealth against the needs of the world. The difficulties most of us are facing in this struggling economy are seen in a different light after we’ve followed children running through the slums of Mumbai, watched women washing in the river, and experienced the toilets of the poor.

From the time I read The City of Joy, a story that takes place in the slums of Calcutta, Mumbai, written by Dominique Lapierre, and then saw the movie, I knew I had to go to India, and so I went. I traveled across this nation of over a billion people for only a few days, but the poverty I saw released a flood of tears that I could not stop. Only when I went with Christ followers who live and serve in the slums of Delhi did I trust that hope is reaching out in some of the most grievous places in the world.

Books can paint a picture that carries us to faraway places; and as believers, God uses words to move us toward His plan for our lives. If the message of Q & A, the book on which Slumdog Millionaire is based, had not been “it is written,” but rather, “the Word became flesh and dwelt among us,” how different the lives of Salim and Jamal could have been. What are you writing today that may lead someone to discover the only final word in life is the Word. How will you take that person to the place where God would have him or her go, to accomplish what God has planned for them to do?  In Christ, “it is written,” indeed.

Responses

  1. It is encouraging to see that the media is finally willing to expose the systemic evil within the Brahmin dominated culture of India. Andrea, your experience in India is touching as you realized how much God wanted to release these people from their horrific bondage.

  2. Bless you, Andrea, for your honest assessment of this situation. I for one know how you share my heart for telling the story of those who suffer around the world, trapped in false religions and tyrannical political systems. I am honored to partner with you to do just that in our upcoming “Extreme Devotion” series in 2010.

  3. Andrea,
    I am on my way to India in May with 12 other ladies who love the Lord and who desire to make an impact for Christ in this very dark region of the world. My heart is already there! I join you in praying for the Lord of the harvest field to send out laborers to India.

  4. hi to all….

    i like this show….

    it so beutiful for me….

    thanks…..

    see ya….


Leave a Reply

Categories

