Posted by: Andrea Mullins | 7 July, 2010

Publicity And A Well Organized Closet By Ashley Stephens

During Ashley’s job  interview I asked her to place her personal organization on a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being OCD. She said she is a “12” and then told me about her closet and her sock drawer. That was when I knew that she not only had the background and skills for the job, but the ability to keep up with the many tasks her position requires.
Ashley Stephens has been with New Hope for a year and a half. She has proven to have an excellent work ethic, exceptional wisdom for her years, and shares my love for pink. Watching her grow in her new marriage, and in her responsiblities at her church make me smile with delight. Please meet Ashley!
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
I pride myself on being extremely organized. Anyone who is in my position at New Hope Publishers has to be a natural at organization.  See exhibit A., the picture below of my beautiful closet. Isn’t it lovely?! Doesn’t it make you happy to look at?! 

My job is officially 50% New Hope Publishers publicist and 50% WorldCrafts marketer. It is a great deal of work to balance both positions and time management is crucial. I know my overly obsessive organization skills are what helps me in my job. Balancing interview bookings, galley sendings, author questions and needs, endorsement gatherings, and book mailings is all a challenge*.

 I am truly blessed to be at New Hope Publishers! No two days are the same, no two authors are the same which makes for fun and interesting days.

 *If you know of anyone who would like an internship in publishing for class credit in the Birmingham area, please let us know.

Responses

  1. Ashley, you’re only the third person I know who’s color-coded her closet (my friend Jill and I are the other two). Do you have them sorted by season, too? I feel your satisfaction!

    The Samford journalism dept would prob love to know you guys are looking for interns! (In fact, back when I went there, you had to have at least one internship in order to graduate.) You could contact David Shipley there. Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

